Handmade Home

So I’m baking.  I have the cornbread for Toby’s school Thanksgiving celebration next to me.  I’ve got pumpkin wedges cooking up on the stove.  I’ve got pate brisee in the fridge.  This is my first all-homemade pumpkin pie.  Since most pumpkin pies from canned pumpkin are actually from butternut and other squashes, this may be my first real pumpkin pie.  I’m looking forward to it.

Julie and Julia is on in the background.  Yes, there is a movie for everything.

Last night I wove in the ends of a huge crocheted afghan I made for the family.  It’s big enough to get all three of us under it at once.  I’ll take a picture when I have a chance and post it.

Garden update:  I’ve pulled the arugula and planted garlic, then got organic straw to cover it.  (Though I read that one should cover it with straw after the ground freezes, and we’re not there yet.  But I have the straw, and that’s the way it’s going to be because it’s just too messy to move around all the time.  We don’t have access to the shed here.)

We got an extra trash bin for composting.  I just need to nail all the little holes in it, and we’re in business.  Lionel is the sweetest because he went out and got it and found out what six penny nails means and he’s been game for everything, even with the kitchen scraps started to smell.

I don’t think I’m going to get the pumpkin pie in the oven in time for it to cook before I have to pick up Toby.  We’re going to the library, his favorite place because they have a train set to play with, then Target, because it’s close by there.  Maybe pumpkin pie tonight???

3 responses to this post.

  1. WTF? If you buy a pumpkin pie it isn’t really pumpkin? That is insanity. Which pate brisee recipe did you go with? I’m letting fMhson do the pies, but I don’t think he is quite up to crust this year 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by waytogohomesteader on November 23, 2011 at 10:51 am

    I know! What’s the deal! I swear I’ve read that lots of pumpkin pie puree sold is not really pumpkin but a particular butternut squash, but now that I’m looking for it, I can’t find it. But I understand better why now: my pumpkin “puree” from two pie pumpkins was all stringy. It wouldn’t go through the food mill at all. And I mashed and did everything I could, including beating it with an electric mixer. I understand butternut and little dumpling squashes are really good ones for “pumpkin” pie.

    The pate brisee recipe I went with is this one: http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/perfect_pie_crust/

    But I don’t have a food processor, so I grated frozen butter on my grater — and wow is that faster than using a pastry cutter or the two knives approach. (I don’t even have a pastry cutter — all the fancy things are in storage. Long stupid story. I hate not having my stuff.)

    This pate brisee recipe was super-easy. I don’t really remember pate brisee being so easy, in fact.

    Woohoo fMhson! Nice work, feMOMhist on empowering son to do some baking! I can’t wait until Toby helps out more.

    Reply

  3. How was the pie? And please post pictures of the afghan – I can’t wait to see it! This post makes me feel warm and cozy inside and makes me yearn to be doing these same things!

    Reply

Your thoughts?

